Cold crab dip

Paula Deen

Serves: 12-15

  • 2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3 tablespoons minced chives
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon prepared horseradish
  • 4 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 pound fresh lump crab meat, picked free of shell

In large bowl, combine cream cheese, sour cream, chives, parslet, horseradish, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper, stirring until smooth. Gently fold in crab meat. Cover and chill up to 3 days. Serve with pita chips.

*Chef’s note: I halved the recipe, and it still probably could have fed a dozen people as an appetizer. I also used 12 ounces crab (instead of the 8 it should have been halved), and it still was way too creamy for me. My family enjoyed it, but it kind of weirded me out to the point I didn’t want to eat any more. The flavor was all right, but too much cream cheese for me.

2 Comments to “Cold crab dip”

  1. yes too much cream cheese,,i’m trying to yhik about another substitute or altogether different ingredient for the crab dip…have any suggestions?

Leave a comment