Autumn golden vegetable lasagna

Rachael Ray

Serves: 6

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups peeled, cubed butternut squash (10 oz.)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 cups Creamy White Sauce
  • 1 can  (15 oz.) pure pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 10 egg roll wrappers (5-inch square)
  • 1 cup shredded aged gouda cheese (about 8 oz.)
  • 8 large basil leaves
In a large nonstick skillet, melt the butter. Add the squash and 1 cup water and simmer over medium heat; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, until the water is evaporated and the squash is golden and tender, about 13 minutes; set aside.
Position a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat to 400 degrees . Meanwhile, lightly grease an 8-inch square glass baking dish and spread 1/2 cup white sauce in the bottom. In a bowl, whisk together the pumpkin puree and egg.
Cut half of the egg roll wrappers into 3 strips each. Fill a large bowl with hot tap water (as you work with the wrappers, dip them in the water to rinse off the starch). Use 1 whole wrapper and 3 strips to cover the bottom of the dish in a single layer (there will be overlap). Spread a generous 1/2 cup of pumpkin mixture on top and sprinkle with 1/3 cup cheese. Repeat the layering.
Add another layer of egg roll wrappers. Spread with 1 cup white sauce, then top with the squash, basil and 1/3 cup cheese. Add another layer of egg roll wrappers, the remaining pumpkin mixture and 1/3 cup cheese. Top with the remaining egg roll wrappers, then spread with the remaining white sauce.
Cover the dish snugly with foil and bake on a baking sheet in the upper third of the oven for 30 minutes. Uncover the dish, sprinkle the remaining 3/4 cup cheese on top and bake until golden and bubbling, about 10 minutes. Let cool for 15 minutes before cutting.
*Chef’s note: Heavy sigh. I had SUCH high hopes for this recipe. But I had literally been lusting over it since October, so I think I built it up too much. I don’t think it’s a bad recipe, and I can see some veggies just loving it. Still, I have to say, I didn’t like it. Aside from the nicely chewy egg roll wrappers, everything in this has a soft texture and too-similar flavor profile. And honestly, think I was just sick of looking at it, let alone tasting it, after I prepped and cooked everything. (I was hoping to hide this, because I don’t want you to think I can’t eat butternut squash without it, [maybe I can’t? Hmm….] but….) I also added some browned mild Italian sausage, and it still didn’t do it for me. If you are going to make it, definitely splurge for the quality versions of these cheeses. And you’ll definitely need a 9 x 13 dish; I don’t know what those folks over at Rach’s mag were thinkin’! 
Leave a Reply

