Salmon cakes with Old Bay aioli

Family Circle

Serves: 4

SALMON CAKES:

  • 3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced small
  • 1 medium carrot, finely diced
  • 1 rib celery, finely diced
  • 2 cans (7.5 ounces each) canned pink salmon
  • 1 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • 1  1/4 tsp. Old Bay seasoning
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice

OLD BAY AIOLI:

  • 1/4 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp. grated garlic
  • 1/4 tsp. Old Bay seasoning

In a large nonstick skillet, heat 1 Tbsp. of the oil over medium heat. Add onion, carrot and celery; cook 5 minutes until slightly softened. Remove to a large bowl.

Drain salmon; remove bones, if desired. Add to bowl with cooked vegetables along with bread crumbs, Old Bay, mustard, cayenne, mayonnaise, parsley and lemon juice. Combine well and form into 12 cakes, about 1/3 cup each.

In same skillet, add another 1 Tbsp. of the oil over medium heat. When oil is hot, add half the cakes to the pan and cook 2 to 3 minutes per side or until browned. Repeat with remaining 1 Tbsp. oil and remaining cakes.

OLD BAY AIOLI: In a small bowl, combine mayonnaise, mustard, garlic and Old Bay. Mix and serve alongside cakes.

*Chef’s note: OK, I know what you’re thinking. “These looks kinda gross.” And, to me, they kinda were. I don’t think it’s the recipe. I think I just don’t like salmon in cake form. I think I have learned that I don’t like eating things that start with me picking a plethora of fish vertebrae out of smelly cans. They say you can leave the bones in, but these things were huge! Gross. Don’t leave them in. And if you do make them, I would add lemon juice to the aioli, and don’t skimp on the mayo or the cakes will crumble a bit. My family really enjoyed these, but I didn’t even want to go through the effort of typing this out (the recipe wasn’t online, darn.), ugh. Brat moment. But, hey, I promised I would share all my culinary attempts. I think if you already like or don’t mind salmon cakes that these will take it up a notch for you. But if you’re like me and dislike salmon cakes but hoped these would turn you into a salmon-cake lover (or “tolerator”) , I’d say just stop right here. Ha ha.

2 Comments to “Salmon cakes with Old Bay aioli”

  1. Made the recipe for dinner. Made seven 1/2 cup size cakes. I added an egg to help bind it together. If you mash up the salmon with a fork before adding the other ingredients, the bones and skin disappear. The bones are actually very good for you (calcium). I had to use spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon, but it was still very good.

Leave a Reply

