Sloppy Joes

Pioneer Woman

Serves: 8

  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2-1/2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1/2 whole Large Onion, Diced
  • 1 whole Large Green Bell Pepper, Diced
  • 5 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1-1/2 cup Ketchup
  • 1 cup Water
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Chili Powder (more To Taste)
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes (more To Taste)
  • Worcestershire Sauce, To Taste
  • 2 Tablespoons Tomato Paste (optional)
  • Tabasco Sauce (optional; To Taste)
  • Salt To Taste
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
  • Kaiser Rolls
  • Butter

Add butter to a large skillet or dutch oven over medium high heat. Add ground beef and cook until brown. Drain most of the fat and discard.

Add onions, green pepper, and garlic. Cook for a few minutes, or until vegetables begin to get soft.

Add ketchup, brown sugar, chili pepper, dry mustard, and water. Stir to combine and simmer for 15 minutes, adding salt and pepper to taste. Also add tomato paste, Worcestershire, and Tabasco if desired. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

Spread rolls with butter and brown on a griddle or skillet. Spoon meat mixture over the rolls, topping with a slice of cheese if it makes your skirt fly up. Serve hot with kettle cooked chips!

*Chef’s note: Can I first just say that I love the Pioneer Woman? She is so funny! I feel close to her, redhead-to-redhead, now that I know she likes kettle chips with her Sloppy Joes, too. Just the perfect vessel to scoop up that Joe that falls overboard! This homemade version was very tasty, and, to me, a lot different from the canned Manwich sauce I grew up on. It had a nice kick to is and was more sweet than anything else. I think I missed the extra tomato flavor; next time I might add some crushed tomatoes, a plain tomato sauce or the optional tomato paste (not more ketchup because I don’t want any more sweetness). I don’t think the recipe from her cookbook I was working off of listed the paste like this online version does. But I would still recommend the recipe as is! I didn’t butter my toasted hamburger buns, but I knowww it would add to this sammie. Butter always does. Please note that this serves 8!

Leave a Reply

